top of page

The Cormac McCarthy Society was founded in 1995 by Rick Wallach, in the wake of the first conference devoted to the author held at Bellarmine College in Louisville, Kentucky, in 1993. Rick joined forces with Edwin Arnold and Dianne Luce, co-editors of the first collection of essays devoted to McCarthy, Perspectives on Cormac McCarthy (UP of Mississippi, 1993) and with Marty Priola, who created the website

The Society hosts regular conferences both in the U.S. and abroad as well as panels at the annual American Literature Association conference, publishes a biannual journal with Penn State University Press, and sends out newsletters with information about publications, events, and other materials of interest.

The original website has an active Forum for any and all conversation among those interested in McCarthy.

The Society’s official purpose is “to further the scholarship and general appreciation of Cormac McCarthy’s writing and to facilitate the gathering of scholars and enthusiastic lay readers alike who share a common interest in Cormac McCarthy and his work.”

Photo by Beowulf Sheehan

Society Executive Board

Stacey Peebles


Centre College

Lydia Cooper

Vice President, Creighton University

Bryan Giemza

Member-at-Large, Texas Tech University

Bill Hardwig

Member-at-Large, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Scott Yarbrough

Member-at-Large, Charleston Southern University


Steven Frye

Ex Officio

President Emeritus, California State University Bakersfield


Dianne C. Luce

President Emeritus


Edwin T. Arnold

President Emeritus

thumbnail_Rick 1.jpg

Rick Wallach

Society Founder

Contact the Society at

bottom of page