top of page

The Chip Arnold Research Award

Given by the Cormac McCarthy Society

This award honors Edwin T. “Chip” Arnold, the first President of the Cormac McCarthy Society from 1993 to 1998; editor, with Dianne C. Luce, of the seminal collections Perspectives on Cormac McCarthy and A Cormac McCarthy Companion: The Border Trilogy; as well as a colleague, mentor, and dear friend.

Undergraduate and graduate students can apply for this award, which confers $500 to be used toward attending a Cormac McCarthy conference or another academic conference with substantial and regular McCarthy coverage, such as the American Literature Association conference, or for travel to undertake archival research. The award must be used at some point during the calendar year.  

The award also includes a one-year membership in the Society and a subscription to the Cormac McCarthy Journal.

Applicants should email a one-page application to with their name, college or university, level of study, and for what purpose they would use the funds. Possible uses include:

• Attending a conference with the goal of presenting a paper
• Attending a conference without presenting, in order to better understand the field
• Travel to the Cormac McCarthy Papers, held as part of the Wittliff Collections at Texas State University in San Marcos, Texas, in order to further work on a thesis or article
• Travel to a different archive that houses materials related to McCarthy (please detail which collection and the research goals)

Deadline for applications: November 1

Awards announced: January 1

The Society welcomes donations to the fund for the Chip Arnold Research Award. You can donate by PayPal or credit card using the button below, or you can write to with inquiries about other ways to give.

bottom of page